Danish Museum Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Museum of Danish America provides oversight to the staff and assists in developing ideas and plans that contribute to the museum’s continuing vitality. Board members participate at their own expense and receive no reimbursements.

The Board of Directors is limited to 25 members. Terms of service are for three years, with the possibility of re-election to a second term. Three years must pass before a member can again be considered for board membership. Several ex-officio members have continued to provide expertise, although they normally do not attend meetings nor do they vote on issues. The Board’s Nominations Committee strives for regional representation, gender balance, and diversity of expertise.

The Board of Directors meets three times a year. The annual meeting is held in Elk Horn, Iowa, during the third weekend in October. Normally, the Board meets each February and June in different locations around the United States to cultivate interest in the museum’s mission.

Without the dedication, energy, and support of a strong team-oriented Board of Directors, the staff of the museum would not be able to work effectively in managing day-to-day operations of the Museum of Danish America.

Executive Members

  • Treasurer

    Chris Kofoed , IA

  • Secretary

    Marnie Jensen , NE

  • President

    Peter West , CO

  • Vicepresident

    Toni McLeod , AZ

Board Members

  • Elly Jorgensen , KS

  • Dennis Gray , NC

  • Joy Clemsen Gajda , IL

  • Marcia Jante , WI

  • Kurt Rasmussen , IA

  • Erik Andersen , NY

  • Mike Nielsen , IA

  • Dan Jensen , OH

  • Anders Sand , MO

  • Carl Steffensen , TX

  • Carol Bassoni , CA

  • Carol Svendsen , CO

  • Connie Hanson , CA

  • David Esbeck , CA

  • Eric Olesen , WI

  • Gerry Henningsen , CO

  • Karen Nielsen , KS

  • Lars Matthiesen , WA

  • Merlyn Knudsen , IA

  • Peder Hansen , NE

  • Randy Ruggaard , OH


  • Dennis Larson , IA

  • John Mark Nielsen , NE

  • Nils Jensen , OR